Welcome to the Florida Atlantic University - College of Business Website

Accessibility Navigation:


FAU Business Leader of the Year

Awards Breakfast

Wednesday, February 17, 2016
8 a.m. – 10 a.m.
Boca Raton Resort and Club

Started in 1991, the Florida Atlantic University (FAU) Business Leader of the Year award celebrates the extraordinary accomplishments of Florida leaders and their impact on the overall business environment. Honorees are selected for their excellence in leadership, vision, innovation, knowledge and experience, transparency and social responsibility.

This year’s honoree is Naren Gursahaney, President, Chief Executive Officer and a Director of The ADT Corporation. Naren and his leadership team’s significant contributions have helped make ADT the leading provider of home and small business electronic security, automation and alarm monitoring services in North America.

Naren is focused on making ADT a world-class customer-centric organization, including building a strong management team, shaping the company’s culture, and maintaining and growing the company’s leadership position. Under Naren’s direction, ADT is poised for continued growth through new and expanded revenue streams and a focus on innovation.

Before his appointment he was President of Tyco Security Solutions, the largest operating segment of Tyco International, which included ADT Security Services. Naren’s extensive experience in enhancing the operational efficiency of multi-billion dollar organizations brought him to Tyco in 2003 to launch and lead a companywide operational excellence initiative. He then served as President of Tyco Engineered Products and Services, a $7 billion division, and its Flow Control business.

Prior to joining Tyco, Naren spent 10 years in leadership roles at General Electric, including general management, marketing, business development and information technology. He was President of GE Medical Systems Asia, Chief Information Officer of GE Medical Systems and Vice President of Service for GE Medical Systems Asia.

Before GE he served four years with Booz Allen & Hamilton, a leading global consulting firm. He began his career as an engineer with Westinghouse Electric in the U.S. and Israel, where he worked on the company’s F-16 co-production program.

He holds a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Penn State University and an MBA in General Management from the University of Virginia’s Darden School of Business Administration. An active Penn State alumnus, Naren serves on several advisory boards and in 2009, he was honored with the Outstanding Engineering Alumni Award from the College of Engineering. Mr.Gursahaney is on the board of directors of NextEra Energy, Inc.

Naren joins past FAU Business Leader of the Year honorees Jordan Zimmerman, Jim Robo, Mike Jackson, Keith Koenig, Mark B. Templeton, Steve Odland, Alan B. Levan, Jeb Bush, Jerry Levin, Pat Moran, Michael E. Maroone, Bruce Nelson, Edward E. Iacobucci, Lowell W. “Bud” Paxson, Carl DeSantis, Steven R. Berrard, Alexander W. Dreyfoos, Jr., Jim Moran, Michael S. Egan, David I. Fuente, H. Wayne Huizenga and Ronald G. Assaf.






An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
©2016 Florida Atlantic University - College of Business