Minutes of College of Business Faculty Assembly

Date: Friday, September 25, 2015

Time: 2:00-4:00 PM

Place: OD 101

1. Welcome - C. M. Sashi

Dr. Sashi, Chair of the Steering Committee, welcomed the College of Business full-time faculty to the spring Faculty Assembly Meeting and announced that there was a quorum. In accordance with the College Bylaws, the announcement was sent out at least10 business days prior to the meeting.

2. Approval – Minutes of Spring Faculty Assembly (April 10, 2015)

The minutes for the spring meeting are posted on the Faculty Assembly page on the College website and the link provided to faculty with the meeting announcement. Dr. Sashi asked for any changes or corrections to the spring minutes. There being none, the minutes from the spring 2015 meeting were accepted as approved.

3. Election of Assembly Secretary

Dr. Mark Kohlbeck was elected Assembly Secretary by the Steering Committee.

4. New Faculty Introductions

Dean Dan Gropper introduced the new directors and department chairs since the spring meeting.

- George Young Director of School of Accounting
- Steven Caudill Chair of Economics Department
- Roland Kidwell Chair of Management Department
- Pierre Alexandre Director of Health Administration

Department chairs then introduced new faculty in their respective departments to the Assembly.

- Management Steven Smith, Ratan Dheer
- Health Administration Scott Feyereisen, Jennifer Attonito
- Accounting Joe Rakestraw, James Wainberg
- Business Communications Joanne Chive, Laurie Nesbitt
- Marketing Stella Quintero, Ye Zhang
- Dean's Staff Rebekah Dickinson
- 5. Promotions

Dr. Sashi announced the names of those promoted effective with the fall 2015 term.

Full Professor – Ravi Behara (ITOM), Bill Bosshardt (Economics), Ping Cheng (Finance), Suman Ghosh (Economics), Mark Kohlbeck (Accounting)

Senior instructor – Marcy Krugel (Bus Com), Karen Chinander Dye (ITOM), Mary Kaye Boyd (Bus Com)

6. Undergraduate Research Initiative – Allen Smith

Dr. Allen Smith provided a presentation on the undergraduate research initiative. The university is promoting a number of events and other activities that are aimed at improving research and inquiry among and reaching out to our undergraduate students. Dr. Smith discussed a number of them and sated that he is here to help.

7. Faculty Enlight Presentation

Steaven Nieratka, bookstore manager, provided a presentation on Faculty Enlight. Faculty Enlight is a web interface to be used by faculty to adopt textbooks for their class. He then provided a demonstration of how to use it. This system may be mandatory and the college needs to address how this will be implemented.

8. Sustained Performance Evaluation Policy

Dr. Sashi started with a brief history and synopsis of the status of the proposed Sustained Performance Evaluation Policy (post tenure review) previously distributed by the Provost. A lively discussion ensued. Almost all of the faculty remarks were against the proposed policy.

Bill Bosshardt moved (second by Tomasz Lenartowicz) for an advisory vote that the College of Business faculty members are against the proposed Sustained Performance Evaluation Policy distributed by the Provost to faculty on September 20, 2015. On a voice vote, the faculty assembly voted unanimously that they are against the proposed Sustained Performance Evaluation Policy distributed by the Provost to faculty on September 20, 2015.

9. Election of Additional Member – University Faculty Senate

The following nomination was made from the floor and the faculty members agreed to serve.

University Faculty Senate (1 additional member)

• Dr. Patrick Bernet (Management)

On a voice vote, the above faculty member was elected to serve.

- 10. Committee/Council Reports & Plans
 - a. P&T Committee Dr. Bob Cerveny

Dr. Cerveny had no update for the assembly.

b. Strategic Planning Committee – Dr. Stuart Galup (Anita Pennathur made the report on his behalf)

The committee requested input on a new COB mission statement, revised the draft mission statement, and sent it to the Dean

c. Graduate Council - Dr. Bill McDaniel

Dr. McDaniel had no update for the assembly.

d. Undergraduate Council – Dr. Ethlyn Williams

The committee is currently discussing changes in admission to the College of Business for undergraduate students as requested by the Dean of Undergraduate Studies.

e. Faculty Development Council – Dr. Kuntal Banerjee

Dr. Banerjee had nothing to report.

11. Dean's Address – Dan Gropper

Dean Dan Gropper addressed the Faculty Assembly. The following summarizes key points of his address.

- His opinion on the proposed Sustained Performance Evaluation Policy
- Focus for the coming year is continuous improvement (research support, student services, teaching effectiveness, growth of market rate programs, and community engagement)
- Discussed a number of events and activities that are getting the COB positive media coverage
- Market rate program enrollment increased from 286 in spring 2014 to 466 in spring 2015
- Coming next
 - Funding need to focus on private sources
 - o Need to revisit vision and mission, match our programs better with FAU mission
 - o Expand community engagement

12. Other Business

Dr. Kim Dunn, Faculty Athletic Representative (FAR) for the university, reported on the FAR's activities. She also informed members of upcoming faculty and staff appreciation games for women's soccer, men's soccer, and women's volleyball.

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at 4:10 pm.