KUDOS: January 2023

By Comms Team | 01/31/2023

Tags: Accounting | Business-Communications | Deans-Office | Economics | Executive-Education | Finance | Hospitality | ITOM | Management | Marketing | Newsletters
Categories: Announcements | Accolades | Faculty/Staff | Research

January Newsletter


Please help us in celebrating Paul Hart's retirement!...

Dear Colleagues,

The College of Business would like to invite the FAU community to join us as we celebrate Dr. Paul Hart’s next adventure as he retires.  

Dr. Hart has been a mainstay of the College of Business and the entire University for 32 years from 1990 to 2023.

Please join us as we celebrate Paul and wish him all the best – Monday 2/13 in the Schmidt Family Complex, Owl’s Perch from 3pm to 4:30pm.

Please RSVP here by February 8th.

If you have any questions, please contact Lacey Taylor at laceytaylor@fau.edu.

We hope to see you there!

Dr. Daniel M. Gropper
Dean, College of Business

Faculty and Staff Photos

Photos for new faculty & staff or anyone requesting an updated photo:

From FAU’s Office of the Provost and the Office of Undergraduate Research and Inquiry

Dear Faculty,

We are pleased to announce that applications are now open for the 2023 Distinguished Mentor of the Year award (DMOY): Excellence in undergraduate research mentorship and 2023 Undergraduate Researcher of the Year Award (UROY).

Distinguished Mentor of the Year (DMOY) 

One $2,500 award will be made to one faculty to honor excellence in mentorship of undergraduate research students. The Distinguished Mentor of the Year will be recognized at the Annual Honors Convocation. 

Completed applications are due to Ginger Hale by Friday, February 3rd, 2023.

To view the complete call for nominations and college-specific details for the DMOY award please click HERE. A dean can nominate only one person for the Distinguished Mentor of the Year award. 

2023 Undergraduate Researcher of the Year Award (UROY)

Students will receive a $500 stipend and an "Undergraduate Research Scholar" stole to wear during their graduation ceremony. The students will be recognized at the Annual Honors Convocation. 

Nominations are due by Friday, February 10th, 2023

To view the additional eligibility requirements, nomination process, and link to the online application please click HERE.

For more information, please contact OURI (ouri@fau.edu) or Taina Teran-Campbell (tteran@fau.edu) in the Office of the Provost. 

Research Kudos & Recognitions

Christopher Boudreaux, Associate Professor, Department of Economics, has been promoted to the position of editor at Small Business Economics. He also has had the following articles accepted for publication:
  • “Gender Diversity in Ownership and Firm Innovativeness in Emerging Markets. The Mediating Roles of R&D Investments and External Capital” with Vartuhi Tonoyan. Research Policy (FT-50: ABS 4*)

  • “Taking Mental Models Seriously: Institutions, Entrepreneurship, and the Mediating Role of Socio-Cognitive Traits” with Daniel L. Bennett, David S. Lucas, and Boris N. Nikolaev. Small Business Economics (ABS 3)

  • “Self-Employment and Eudaimonic Well-being: The Mediating Role of Problem- and Emotion-Focused Coping” with Boris Nikolaev, Michael Lerman, and Brandon Mueller. Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice (FT-50; ABS 4)

Kevin Cox, Associate Director of the Adams Center for Entrepreneurship and Senior Instructor in Entrepreneurship, was honored his week with a certificate of recognition from South Florida Tech Hub "for being an integral part of the startup ecosystem in South Florida."
For many years, Kevin has taught FAU students through the College of Business’ entrepreneurship program, mentored start-up companies at Tech Runway and the iCorp program, and taught and mentored Florida veterans, FAU students, and community members in the Adams Center boot camps.
He designed and formalized the original FAU boot camp, and he also serves as co-host of the Boca Raton Shrimp Tank podcast, which interviews local and regional entrepreneurs.  
Rosemond Desir, Joseph Rakestraw, and Scott Seavey, Assistant Professors, along with James Wainberg and George Young, Associate Professors, all in the School of Accounting, have had their paper titled, "Managerial Ability, CEO Age and the Moderating Effect of Firm Characteristics" accepted for publication in the Journal of Business Finance and Accounting (ABS 3, A* on the ABDC list, and on the SOA Preferred Journal list).
Roland Kidwell, Chair of the Department of Management Programs, has been named as a Justin G. Longenecker Fellow, the highest honor given by the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (USASBE) to those who promote small and medium-sized businesses.
Peter Ricci was recently selected as co-president elective for Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI) South Florida chapter at their 37th Annual Awards Gala.
The Gala also provided a platform to raise funds for the HSMAI South Florida Dr. Peter Ricci Scholarship fund, which helps aspiring college students who are pursuing hospitality careers. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees who were recognized for their hard work and dedication.

This year's Dr. Peter Ricci Honorary Scholarship Fund 2022 recipients were Ryan Croson and Terica Benyard of Florida Atlantic University and Isabella Roller of Lynn University.